The Who - Quadrophenia

In stock

Customer Feedback


Quadrophenia is the sixth studio album by the English rock band the Who, released as a double album on 26 October 1973 by Track Records. It is the group's third rock opera, the two previous being the "mini-opera" song "A Quick One, While He's Away" and the album Tommy. Set in London and Brighton in 1965, the story follows a young mod named Jimmy and his search for self-worth and importance. Quadrophenia is the only Who album entirely composed by Pete Townshend.

The group started work on the album in 1972, trying to follow up Tommy and Who's Next, both of which had achieved substantial critical and commercial success. Recording was delayed while bassist John Entwistle and singer Roger Daltrey recorded solo albums and drummer Keith Moon worked on films. Because a new studio was not finished in time, the group had to use Ronnie Lane's Mobile Studio. The album makes significant use of Townshend's multi-track synthesizers and sound effects, as well as Entwistle's layered horn parts, in addition to the group's typical playing styles, especially from Moon. Relationships between the group and manager Kit Lambert broke down irretrievably during recording and Lambert had left the band's service by the time the album was released.

Side one
1. "I Am the Sea" Roger Daltrey 2:09
2. "The Real Me" Daltrey 3:21
3. "Quadrophenia" (instrumental) 6:14
4. "Cut My Hair" Pete Townshend (verses), Daltrey (chorus) 3:45
5. "The Punk and the Godfather" Daltrey (verses and chorus), Townshend (bridge) 5:11
Total length: 20:40
Track 5 titled "The Punk Meets the Godfather" on the American version

Side two
1. "I'm One" (At least) Townshend 2:38
2. "The Dirty Jobs" Daltrey 4:30
3. "Helpless Dancer" (Roger's theme) Daltrey 2:34
4. "Is It in My Head?" Daltrey (verses, bridge), John Entwistle (chorus) 3:44
5. "I've Had Enough" Daltrey and Townshend 6:15
Total length: 19:41


Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

You may also like

Recently viewed