David Bowie - Scary monsters (and super creeps)

In stock

Customer Feedback


Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps), also known simply as Scary Monsters, is the 14th studio album by the English musician David Bowie, released on 12 September 1980 through RCA Records. His first album following the Berlin Trilogy (Low, "Heroes" and Lodger), Scary Monsters was Bowie's attempt to create a more commercial record after the trilogy proved successful artistically but less so commercially.

Co-produced by Tony Visconti, Scary Monsters was recorded between February and April 1980 at the Power Station in New York City, and later Good Earth Studios in London. Much of the same personnel from prior releases returned for the sessions, with additional guitar by Chuck Hammer and Robert Fripp, and a guest appearance by Pete Townshend. The music incorporates elements of art rock, new wave and post-punk. Unlike the improvisational nature of prior releases, Bowie spent time writing the music and lyrics; several were recorded under working titles and some contained reworked elements of earlier, unreleased songs. The album cover is a large-scale collage featuring Bowie donning a Pierrot costume, with references to his prior releases on the rear sleeve.

Side one
1. "It's No Game (No. 1)" Bowie, trans. Hisahi Miura 4:20
2. "Up the Hill Backwards" 3:15
3. "Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps)" 5:12
4. "Ashes to Ashes" 4:25
5. "Fashion" 4:49

Side two
1. "Teenage Wildlife" 6:56
2. "Scream Like a Baby" 3:35
3. "Kingdom Come" Tom Verlaine 3:45
4. "Because You're Young" 4:54
5. "It's No Game (No. 2)" 4:22


Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

You may also like

Recently viewed